WIP (Work In Progress)
 Pixel Joint Forum : Pixel Art : WIP (Work In Progress)
Message Icon Topic: Basic attempt at shading Post Reply Post New Topic
DSSirius
Seaman
Seaman

Online Status: Offline
Quote DSSirius Replybullet Topic: Basic attempt at shading
    Posted: 06 March 2019 at 4:37am
Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to pixel art(ish). I've been doing it for a few years in reality I suppose, but it's only now that I'm really beginning to delve into the details with doing it properly. This is an attempt at doing some proper shading, a freehand drawn lizard.

I've come to learn that the colour balance will likely be off and there are probably other numerous mistakes with it.

If people could help critique it and show me anything I'm doing wrong, that would be a big help!

many thanks!

IP IP Logged
DSSirius
Seaman
Seaman

Quote DSSirius Replybullet Posted: 07 March 2019 at 4:20am
Just another piece I churned out. This is predominantly the sort of art I'm trying to achieve for my current project.

Please critique this. Any knowledge on mistakes will be very valuable for me!

Many thanks.

Further progress:

Just made another touch up to the zombie based on current advice:

IP IP Logged
Vegeta897
Midshipman
Midshipman

Quote Vegeta897 Replybullet Posted: 07 March 2019 at 7:17am
I am also fairly new to the proper ways of doing things despite having pixelled for some 20 years, so take my critique with a grain of salt.

Your work is good, but you should look up "pillow shading" and "banding". The lizard suffers from pillow shading that makes its skin look far too smooth and the shading just unnatural. The zombie is better overall but there is some minor "fat line" banding in her(?) left leg and right shoe.

Banding in particular is something I am still developing an eye for so a better artist than myself may correct me on it.
IP IP Logged
DSSirius
Seaman
Seaman

Quote DSSirius Replybullet Posted: 07 March 2019 at 9:04am