WIP (Work In Progress)
 Pixel Joint Forum : Pixel Art : WIP (Work In Progress)
Message Icon Topic: Critique Request for my First Piece. Post Reply Post New Topic
FluffyTail
Seaman
Seaman

Online Status: Offline
Quote FluffyTail Replybullet Topic: Critique Request for my First Piece.
    Posted: 28 September 2021 at 9:56am
Hello, I'd like to request some feedback, critique, on my first pixel art piece: a centaur knight.

I've some theoretical knowledge, but not a lot of practice.

My intention is to eventually create a side-scrolling video game, something like a metroidvania with some greater depth of controls, while trying to at least appear to stay within the conceit of a SNES/Mega Drive-style game.

As I wanted to base this character's height off of a shire horse, I tried to make it nearly twice as tall as I imagined a human character would stand, though I feel like the proportions ended up skewing too close toward realistic (which is not to say that it is realistic) -- perhaps she needs to be taller still, and she probably needs a bigger head (50%-100% bigger maybe).

Some concerns I have regarding the piece, as well as some issues I can see but can't figure out how to fix:
  1. I feel like my contrast is off, despite starting in greyscale.
  2. The perspective doesn't seem appropriate for an idle pose in a side-scrolling game, and the pose itself is very static, but I'm not sure how I'd shift the perspective to one closer to 3/4 given the hybrid anatomy. I think the perspective shift, plus some kind of positioning of the hooves and a more forward (or just less neutral) will help the pose.
  3. I dislike the hair in front of her face, as I wanted it to better represent pushing out from under the helm/visor. I can't seem to get the apperance without also seeming to thin out the hair overall.