WIP (Work In Progress)
 Pixel Joint Forum : Pixel Art : WIP (Work In Progress)
Message Icon Topic: [Feedback] Weekly Challenge - Clean Your SDD 2021 Post Reply Post New Topic
Skyward4d
Seaman
Seaman

Online Status: Offline
Quote Skyward4d Replybullet Topic: [Feedback] Weekly Challenge - Clean Your SDD 2021
    Posted: 04 January 2022 at 4:00am

I was after feedback on my WIP for the Clean Your SDD 2021 Challenge, for which I'm attempting the Link to the Present challenge from last year.

The specs of the original challenge were to redraw the original NES Link to the following specs:

Canvas size: Max 48x 48.
Colours: Max 8.
Transparency: Required, don't forget it counts as a colour!
Animation: Optional.

I'm relatively new to pixel art, and art in general (This is my first post on this forum) so feedback of all kinds is welcome.

But specifically I'm still trying to get my head around anti-aliasing and whether i've applied it correctly around his hat to soften up the curves of the lines.
IP IP Logged
SeDiceBisonte
Midshipman
Midshipman

Quote SeDiceBisonte Replybullet Posted: 07 January 2022 at 3:31am
Hi! This is looking pretty good already. The forms are all clear and I think it's only in the details of the face that things are a little difficult to read.

Before typing anything else, I must point out that I am not a sprite artist, but I have a few thoughts that are hopefully useful.

Firstly, although I overuse anti-aliasing (I am trying to cut back), my advice at this scale is that you probably don't need it at all. To answer whether you're understanding it or not, I'd say that it's generally applied correctly albeit inconsistently.