WIP (Work In Progress)
 Pixel Joint Forum : Pixel Art : WIP (Work In Progress)
Message Icon Topic: [Feedback] Drawing a Knight Post Reply Post New Topic
SydneyMatheus
Seaman
Seaman

Online Status: Offline
Quote SydneyMatheus Replybullet Topic: [Feedback] Drawing a Knight
    Posted: 13 February 2022 at 6:22pm

Hi, I'm a beginner in Pixel Art, this was an attempt to draw a knight as a "half-demon" samurai hahaha (idk) based on the tutorial: http://derekyu.com/makegames/pixelart.html. I tried to put into practice the shading and selout techniques present in the tutorial, some other techniques I didn't give much importance and some I avoided because they seem more complex like Dithering and AA. My inspirations for this creation were images from Google and the PixelJoint gallery itself. Some problems and difficulties I had, in addition to the application of the techniques, was in the anatomy as you can see, at the end of the art I discovered a site that simulates a 3D puppet where I could have based myself, but anyway, that's for next time (https://app.justsketch.me/). If anyone has any tips I would be grateful, thanks.

(This is my first post here, sorry if I made any mistakes and sorry for my bad English)
IP IP Logged
specialmin64
Seaman
Seaman

Quote specialmin64 Replybullet Posted: 14 February 2022 at 9:46am
pretty good for a beginner, kinda reminds me of the sprites in golden axe. If you'll forgive my audacity, I made a quick edit:

My main advice is:
  -Make sure lines are anti-aliased ("AA'd") when possible. You can get away with not using AA (Cure, for instance, has a lot of great pixel art that keeps AA minimal) but I highly recommend learning how to AA properly if you want pixel art that looks smooth. Even touches of it can make a big difference IMO
  -Avoid placing highlights right up against the boundaries of rounded forms. For example: put some distance between the forearm's dark edge and its highlight)